Swiss NBC scenarios

On the preparation of protection measures

Chemical plant accident, animal epidemic, radiological bomb: In order to get a systematic overview of the hazard potential of possible disasters and emergencies, organizations in charge of disaster management perform analyses of hazards or risks, respectively. This involves identifying the spectrum of possible hazards, developing specific scenarios, analyzing their impacts in a sophisticated manner, and assessing the likelihood of occurrence for the scenarios described. A scenario describes a possible course of events, which illustrates and best represents a certain category of potential hazards. In Switzerland, the bodies appointed to deal with NBC protection issues use these types of scenarios to develop and continually review the necessary NBC protection measures.

Foundations from the Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

The binding basis for implementing the „National NBC Protection“ project and the „Swiss NBC“ strategy were the NBC scenarios developed by the Spiez Laboratory (branch of the Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP). Scenario risk assessment is based on a method that enables us to determine and compare with each other different risks according to a uniform procedure. This method was developed by the Risk Analysis / Research Coordination section of the FOCP.

Statistics and expert assessments

Information on likelihood and the effects of scenarios are based on the analysis of incidents, statistics, publications, other scenarios etc. Where information is missing – for instance if there are considerable uncertainties as to the extent of effects, the frequency of occurrence or the plausibility of scenarios – estimates are obtained through expert panel discussions. During these expert sessions, an interrogation method is used that is based on the Delphi procedure that provides for an efficient approximation and consolidation of assessments.

For naturally caused and technical dangers or attacks

The likelihood or frequency that a scenario arises is determined as precisely as possible for natural and technological hazards – on the basis of statistics or expert estimates. If scoring based on probability calculations is impossible, the likelihood is allocated to a probability class with a logarithmic scale. Deliberately caused incidents (e.g. attacks), cannot be described in terms of frequency. For such cases the plausibility of their occurrence is assessed for the coming ten years on the basis of subjectively assessed likelihood. Here things like technical feasibility of an attack, its impact and chances of success are assessed. If precedent cases exist, this is also taken into account. In analogy to the likelihood and frequency classes, deliberate incidents are assigned to a plausibility class.

Few scenarios

The number of scenarios has been limited. Never-the-less, they cover the range of threats and dangers well – from accidents and natural disasters to terror / sabotage and politic-military incidents. The following scenarios were developed:

Nuclear

  • Nuclear plant accident
    Radiological bomb
    Nuclear weapon explosion near the Swiss border
    Attack on a transport of highly radioactive waste

Biological

  • B-toxin attack
    Pathogen virus attack
    Anthrax attack
    Pandemic – new, yet unknown pathogen
    Pandemic – influenza
    Animal epidemic – outbreak of hoof-and-mouth disease in Switzerland

Chemical

  • Transport attack or accident
    Chemical plant accident
    Toxin attack
    Chemical weapon attack
    Chemical weapon attack on Switzerland

Natural

  • Earthquake
    Storm
    Flood
     


Spiez Laboratory Information
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail


Print contact

Spiez Laboratory

Information
CH-3700 Spiez

Show map

Scénarios de référence pour la protection ABC en Suisse

La préparation de mesures de protection

Accident chimique, épidémie, „bombe sale“ : la Suisse doit compter avec un grand nombre de dangers. On entend par scénario le déroulement possible d'un événement, le plus représentatif possible d'une catégorie de dangers. Les organes chargés de la protection ABC en Suisse se fondent sur de tels scénarios pour élaborer les mesures de protection nécessaires et les vérifier régulièrement.

Documents de base élaborés par l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP)

La mise en œuvre du projet de protection ABC nationale et de la stratégie de protection ABC pour la Suisse repose sur les scénarios de référence mis au point par le Laboratoire de Spiez, rattaché à l’OFPP. Pour évaluer les différents risques en la matière, l’OFPP s’est servi d’une méthode permettant de les déterminer et comparer à l’aide d’un procédé uniforme. Cette méthode a été développée par la Section Analyse des risques et coordination de la recherche de l'OFPP.

Statistiques et estimations d’experts

Les informations concernant la fréquence d’occurrence et les conséquences des divers scénarios se fondent sur des analyses d’événements, des statistiques, la littérature, d’autres scénarios, etc. En l’absence de données – par exemple lors de doutes considérables quant à l’étendue des effets ou quant à la fréquence d’un événement (plausibilité d’un scénario) –, ces facteurs sont évalués par des groupes d’experts. Ceux-ci ont employé une version modifiée de la méthode de Delphes, laquelle permet de faire des prévisions réalistes et d’obtenir des estimations crédibles.

Menaces d’origine naturelle ou technique et risques d‘attentat

Pour les menaces d’origine naturelle ou technique, la probabilité d’occurrence (fréquence) d’un scénario est définie avec une précision maximale, à l’aide de statistiques ou de valeurs estimées par des experts. A défaut d’une appréciation ponctuelle, la fréquence d’occurrence est attribuée à une classe logarithmique. Les événements provoqués (p. ex. attentats) ne peuvent pas être décrits sous l’angle de leur fréquence. C’est pourquoi la vraisemblance de cette catégorie d’événements est estimée sur la durée des dix prochaines années en se fondant sur des probabilités subjectives. A cette fin, les experts jugent la faisabilité technique d’un attentat, son effet possible et ses chances de succès du point de vue de son auteur. Les éventuels précédents sont également pris en compte dans ces prévisions. Par analogie avec les classes de probabilité et de fréquence, les événements provoqués (actes intentionnels) sont classés en fonction de leur plausibilité.

Nombre limité de scénarios de référence

Même si leur nombre a été volontairement limité, les scénarios de référence permettent d’inclure tout l’éventail des risques et menaces, de l’accident aux actes de terrorisme / sabotage et événements politico-militaires, en passant par la catastrophe naturelle.

Les scénarios suivants ont été élaborés :

Domaine A

  • Accident dans une centrale nucléaire
  • Bombe radiologique
  • Explosion d’arme A à proximité de la frontière suisse
  • Attentat contre un train transportant des déchets hautement radioactifs

Domaine B

  • Attentat au moyen d’une toxine B
  • Attaque au moyen de virus pathogènes
  • Attentat au bacille du charbon
  • Pandémie due à un agent pathogène jusqu’ici inconnu
  • Pandémie de grippe
  • Epizootie – apparition de la fièvre aphteuse en Suisse

Domaine C

  • Attentat ou accident ferroviaire lors d'un transport
  • Accident dans une usine chimique
  • Attentat avec un produit chimique
  • Attentat avec un toxique chimique de combat
  • Attaque contre la Suisse au moyen d’armes C

Domaine N

  • Tremblement de terre
  • Tempête
  • Crues