print preview

Management and operational communications systems

Polycom: Switzerland’s secure radio network

Polycom is the nation-wide secure radio network of the rescue and security authorities and organisations (BORS). It enables radio contact within and between the various organisations Border Guard, police, fire service, ambulance, civil protection organisation and supportive military units. Today, all BORS of the Confederation, cantons and communes are able to transmit both voice and data messages through a uniform infrastructure. The secure network was established step-by-step with modular networks under the direction of the Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP). The FOCP’s training centre in Schwarzenburg offers courses necessary for operating the network and training the end-users.

Value retention of Polycom until 2030

Das FOCP regards it as its duty to sustainedly manage the existing communications infrastructure that is used by about 55,000 users daily. A large portion of the components used in the Polycom system has been in operation for more than ten years and has to be renewed due to technological developments. Therefore, the FOCP initiated the Polycom 2030 project to ensure its operation until 2030 and to provide for sustained value of the entire system. With the conversion of Time Division Multiplexing (TDM) to IP technology its function can be sustained until 2030 at least. After this step, the Polycom system will be based on the secure integrated data network (SDVN).

Polycom training centre

The FOCP’s training centre in Schwarzenburg runs a series of courses that train end users how to configure and operate the Polycom network. The modular design of these training courses means that they can be tailored to the participants' specific needs.

Mobile broadband secure communications system (MSC)

The BORS, critical infrastructure operators and other civil protection organisations must be able to exchange huge volumes of mobile data at any time, even when existing mobile networks are overloaded or damaged, as can happen after a natural disaster or terrorist attack. Switzerland currently does not have a unified system in place which would guarantee around-the-clock mobile broadband secure communications for all federal, cantonal and third-party actors.

A mobile broadband secure communications system (MSC) should use the existing or planned infrastructures of public mobile operators and civil protection partner organisations. It should also feature crisis-proof and secure elements so that the Confederation, the cantons and third parties are able to send and receive mobile data at all times.

Pilot project 2020–2023

The FOCP will coordinate the pilot project on the creation and implementation of a nationwide MSC. Federal and cantonal agencies, particularly rescue and security organisations, will partner the project. Other participants will include a number of cantons and cities, as well as the Federal Office of Police (fedpol), the Federal Customs Administration (FCA), the Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM, the Armed Forces Command Support Organisation (AFCSO) and the Armed Forces Operations Command.

The pilot, which is scheduled to run from 2020 to 2023, follows several rounds of consultation in 2019. These were led by the Federal BORS Telematics Commission (Kom Tm BORS) and involved all relevant organisations. This process identified and assessed the needs, potential synergies and available options in relation to the introduction of a nationwide MSC in Switzerland. The final report, which provides the basis for the pilot project, is available to order from the FOCP (info@babs.admin.ch, Subject: 'Ergebnisbericht Synergien MSK'). 


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

E-Mail

Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

print preview

Führungs- und Einsatzkommunikationssysteme

Polycom: das Sicherheitsfunknetz der Schweiz

Polycom ist das flächendeckende Sicherheitsnetz Funk der Behörden und Organisationen für Rettung und Sicherheit (BORS). Es ermöglicht den Funkkontakt innerhalb wie zwischen den verschiedenen Organisationen Grenzwacht, Polizei, Feuerwehr, sanitätsdienstliches Rettungswesen, Zivilschutz und unterstützende Verbände der Armee. Sämtliche BORS des Bundes, der Kantone und der Gemeinden können heute über eine einheitliche und homogene Infrastruktur Funkgespräche sowie Daten übertragen. Aufgebaut wurde das Sicherheitsnetz schrittweise mit Teilnetzen unter der Leitung des Bundesamtes für Bevölkerungsschutz (BABS).

Werterhaltung von Polycom bis 2030

Das BABS sieht sich in der Pflicht, die bestehende von rund 55‘000 Nutzern tagtäglich genutzte Kommunikationsinfrastruktur nachhaltig in die Zukunft zu führen. Ein grosser Teil der im System Polycom genutzten Komponenten ist mehr als zehn Jahre in Betrieb und muss aufgrund des Technologiewandels erneuert werden. Das BABS hat deshalb das Projekt Polycom 2030 initiiert, um die Nutzung bis 2030 sicherzustellen und für eine nachhaltige Werterhaltung des Gesamtsystems zu sorgen. Mit dem Umbau von Time Division Multiplexing (TDM) auf die IP-Technologie kann die Funktionsfähigkeit bis mindestens 2030 sichergestellt werden. Nach diesem Schritt wird das System Polycom auf dem sicheren Datenverbundnetz (SDVN) basieren.

Kompetenzzentrum Ausbildung Polycom

Das Kompetenzzentrum Ausbildung Polycom (KAP) in Schwarzenburg bietet Ausbildungen an, die zur Konfiguration und zum Betrieb sowie für die Ausbildung der Endgerätebenutzer notwendig sind. Das Ausbildungsangebot ist modular aufgebaut und kann exakt den spezifischen Kundenbedürfnissen angepasst werden.

Für ein mobiles breitbandiges Sicherheitskommunikationssystem (MSK)

Die BORS, aber auch die Betreiber kritischer Infrastrukturen und weitere Organisationen des Bevölkerungsschutzes sind darauf angewiesen, grössere Datenmengen mobil austauschen zu können. Dies muss auch möglich sein, wenn die bestehenden Mobilfunknetze überlastet oder beschädigt sind, etwa nach Naturkatastrophen oder einem Terroranschlag. Ein einheitliches System, das die mobile breitbandige Sicherheitskommunikation für Bund, Kantone und Dritte in allen Lagen garantiert, fehlt zurzeit in der Schweiz.

Ein mobiles breitbandiges Sicherheitskommunikationssystem (MSK) soll bestehende und geplante Infrastrukturen der öffentlichen Mobilfunkbetreiber sowie der Partnerorganisationen des Bevölkerungsschutzes nutzen und mit krisenresistenten und sicheren Elementen so ergänzen, dass die mobile Datenkommunikation für Bund, Kantone und Dritte in allen Lagen sichergestellt ist.

Pilotprojekt im Zeitraum 2020–2023

Koordiniert durch das BABS wird im Zeitraum 2020–2023 ein Pilotprojekt für ein schweizweites MSK durchgeführt. Partnerschaftlich miteinbezogen werden Bundes- und Kantonsstellen vor allem aus dem Bereich Rettung und Sicherheit. Unter den involvierten Organisationen sind u. a. verschiedene Kantone und Städte, das Bundesamt für Polizei (fedpol), die Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung (EZV), das Bundesamt für Kommunikation (BAKOM) sowie die Führungsunterstützungsbasis und das Kommando Operationen der Armee.

Das Pilotprojekt schliesst an umfangreiche Konsultationen an, die unter der Führung der Eidgenössischen Kommission für Telematik im Bereich Rettung und Sicherheit (Kom Tm BORS) 2019 mit den interessierten Organisationen durchgeführt wurden. Dabei wurden Bedürfnisse, Synergiepotenziale und Varianten der Umsetzung eines MSK skizziert und bewertet. Der resultierende Bericht, der als Grundlage für die Arbeiten des Pilotprojekts dient, kann beim BABS (info@babs.admin.ch, Stichwort "Ergebnisbericht Synergien MSK") bezogen werden. 


Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

E-Mail


Sekretariat Polycom

Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 462 51 62
E-Mail

Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS

Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

Kompetenzzentrum Ausbildung Polycom Kilchermatt 2
CH-3150 Schwarzenburg
Tel.
+41 58 469 38 11

E-Mail

Kompetenzzentrum Ausbildung Polycom

Kilchermatt 2
CH-3150 Schwarzenburg