Structure, command and management

Integrated system - modular structure

Civil protection is an integrated management, protection, rescue and relief system. The partner organisations are in charge of their specific tasks, and provide mutual support. Joint management ensures coordinated planning and preparation, and operational command in case of deployment. The resources of the partner organisations have a modular structure, with everyday incidents forming its basis. According to the type and severity of an incident, resources are coordinated and reinforced. The primary intervention resources (police, fire service, first aid service) deal with everyday incidents on-site according to established procedures. In the case of disasters and emergencies the partner organisations provide additional resources.

Management

The operational command of the partner deployed (generally the fire service or the police) is in charge of everyday incidents. For large-scale incidents, a special staff unit with ad-hoc specialists from the partner organisations and from the administration assumes command. If several partner organisations are deployed over a longer period, this staff unit in which the partners are represented is put in charge of command, coordination and management, directed by a chief of staff who reports directly to the relevant authority.

Increase of readiness and „build up“ principle

With rising hazard level (for example increased radioactivity or the threat of armed conflict), the Confederation, cantons and municipalities, each at their own level of competence, must increase the readiness of alert systems for the population, of the managing bodies, partner organisations and protective structures, in timely and adequate manner. If there appears to be a rising threat of armed conflict, the government (Federal Council) and Parliament may decide to „build-up“ civil protection resources, within the assumed advanced warning period of several years. This would primarily require measures relative to personnel (for example raising the age to which persons do compulsory service), training and material resources.

Subsidiary back-up by army resources

According to the subsidiarity principle, the authorities in charge may re-quest military back-up. In principle, civil authorities may request military aid only if and when joint cantonal and regional civil protection resources are exhausted, or non-existent (except for spontaneous assistance). The army may provide subsidiary protection services (security, for example), military disaster relief and general back-up services, such as road or airborne transport, or engineering tasks.

Service system

The civil protection is based on the system of compulsory service pursuant to the Federal Constitution. National service must be done either in the army (military service), in the civil protection organisation, or - in exceptional cases - in the alternative civilian service system. Fire service duty and other compulsory services are regulated by the cantons.


Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP) Monbijoustrasse 51A
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Print contact

La structure de la protection de la population

Un système coordonné composé de cinq organisations partenaires

La protection de la population est un système visant à assurer la coordination de la conduite, de la protection, du sauvetage et de l'aide. Les organisations partenaires qui le composent, soit la police, les sapeurs-pompiers, la santé publique, les services techniques et la protection civile, sont responsables de leur domaine respectif et se prêtent mutuellement assistance pour remplir leurs tâches.

Un organe de conduite commun

La responsabilité générale de la sécurité publique, et donc du système coordonné de protection de la population, incombe à l’exécutif compétent, qui désigne (aux niveaux cantonal, communal ou régional), un organe de conduite. Il appartient à chaque organe d'évaluer les risques et les dangers, d'effectuer les planifications et les préparatifs des engagements et, le cas échéant, de coordonner les interventions des organisations partenaires. L'organe de conduite prend la direction des opérations lorsque plusieurs organisations partenaires sont engagées pendant un certain temps, donc en cas de catastrophe ou en situation d'urgence.

Structure modulaire

Pour maîtriser les événements dommageables, les organisations partenaires disposent de moyens à structure modulaire. La conception modulaire prend pour point de départ les événements non exceptionnels. Les moyens engagés sont renforcés en fonction du type et de la gravité de l'événement. Lors d’événements non exceptionnels, la coordination éprouvée des organisations partenaires, en particulier des moyens de première intervention (police, sapeurs-pompiers et premiers secours) suffit. En cas de catastrophe ou en situation d'urgence, plusieurs, voire l'ensemble des organisations partenaires d'une même commune ou région, entrent en action. Elles peuvent aussi recevoir le renfort d'organisations ou d'entreprises privées ou encore de l'armée.

Volontaires, personnes astreintes et professionnels

Les organisations partenaires de la protection de la population couvrent leurs besoins en personnel de différentes manières. Certaines d'entre elles ont presque entièrement recours à du personnel professionnel (la police et les services techniques, notamment), d'autres fonctionnent avant tout grâce au service obligatoire (protection civile, sapeurs-pompiers) ou volontaire. Dans le domaine de la santé publique, les professionnels sont renforcés par un grand nombre de bénévoles (p. ex. les Samaritains). Il convient de signaler qu'il existe en Suisse plusieurs corps de sapeurs-pompiers de métier.


Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Imprimer contact

Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP

Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Berne

Voir la carte