Critical infrastructure protection

Great importance of critical infrastructures

Critical infrastructure protection aims to ensure the supply of crucial goods and services, such as energy, transport and health care. Critical infrastructures include not just buildings and facilities, but also supply systems and services in the broadest sense. Serious disruptions, for example a nationwide power cut, can have far-reaching consequences for the population and cause considerable damage to the economy. The protection of critical infrastructures consists of various structural, technical, organisational and legal measures aimed at preventing such disruptions or restoring functionality if an incident occurs.

National strategy on protecting critical infrastructures

The protection of critical infrastructures has been a concern of the Federal Council for some time. In 2012, it approved the first national CIP Strategy, which was updated in 2017. Switzerland’s 2018-2022 CIP Strategy defines the overriding goals and principles of action for all parties involved. The strategy also identifies 17 measures to improve the country’s resilience, i.e. its resistance, versatility and regeneration capacity, with regard to its critical infrastructures. For example, the supervisory and regulatory authorities were charged with examining all sectors for any significant risk of major supply disruption, and establishing measures for improving security where necessary. A further measure involved compiling an inventory, to be updated periodically, of strategically important objects in Switzerland, such as hubs for the power supply, communications, food distribution or the provision of medicines.

Co-operation between involved parties

The national CIP Strategy is implemented within existing structures and responsibilities, and the Federal Office of Civil Protection FOCP is charged with co-ordinating its implementation. The work is carried out collaboratively with the operators of critical infrastructures, with the supervisory and regulatory authorities in various sectors, and with the cantons. The strategy will be reviewed again in 2022 and revised if necessary.


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Office for critical infrastructure protection
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Print contact

Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Office for critical infrastructure protection
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern

Show map

Protection des infrastructures critiques

L’importance capitale des infrastructures critiques

La protection des infrastructures critiques (PIC) vise à garantir la disponibilité des principaux biens et prestations. En font notamment partie l’énergie, les transports et les soins médicaux. Les infrastructures critiques ne désignent pas seulement les constructions et les installations, mais aussi les systèmes d’approvisionnement et les prestations au sens le plus large. Les pannes sérieuses, notamment un blackout électrique à l’échelle du pays, peuvent provoquer de graves dommages à l’économie et accabler gravement la population. La protection des infrastructures critiques englobe entre autres des mesures architecturales, techniques, organisationnelles ou juridiques qui ont pour objectif d’empêcher si possible de telles pannes ou, en cas d’événement, de rétablir rapidement la capacité fonctionnelle.

Stratégie nationale de protection des infrastructures critiques

Depuis longtemps, la protection des infrastructures critiques est une préoccupation du Conseil fédéral. Ainsi, en 2012, il a approuvé une première stratégie nationale PIC, avant de l’actualiser en 2017. La stratégie nationale PIC 2018 – 2022 définit pour tous les acteurs des objectifs supérieurs et des principes d’action. En outre, elle désigne 17 mesures en vue d’améliorer la résilience (capacité de résistance, d’adaptation et de régénération) de la Suisse en matière d’infrastructures critiques. Les autorités respectives de surveillance et de régulation responsables ont par ailleurs été chargées de vérifier dans tous les secteurs s’il existe des risques notables de problèmes d’approvisionnement graves. Au besoin, il conviendra d’élaborer des mesures visant à améliorer la sécurité. Une liste actualisée périodiquement sera également tenue pour les ouvrages d’importance stratégique pour la Suisse. En l’occurrence, il s’agit notamment des points nodaux centraux de l’approvisionnement énergétique et de l’internet ou des centrales de distribution pour l’approvisionnement en denrées alimentaires et médicaments.

Collaboration avec tous les organes impliqués

La mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale PIC s’effectue dans le cadre des structures et responsabilités existantes. L’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP) a été chargé de la coordination générale de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie. Les travaux sont effectués en étroite coopération avec les exploitants des infrastructures critiques, les autorités de surveillance et de régulation dans les différents secteurs et les cantons. La stratégie nationale PIC doit être vérifiée en 2022 et, au besoin, adaptée.


Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP Buerau de protection des infrastructures critiques
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Imprimer contact

Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP

Buerau de protection des infrastructures critiques
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Berne

Voir la carte