print preview

The National Risk Analysis of Disasters and Emergencies in Switzerland

Crucial basis for preparedness planning in disaster management

Organisations responsible for the management of disasters and emergencies face a broad and diverse range of loss events. The National Risk Analysis classifies these events into three categories: nature, technology and society. The response to these events must therefore be organised and planned in advance. In order to get a systematic overview of the hazard potential of possible disasters and emergencies, organizations in charge of disaster management perform analyses of hazards or risks, respectively. This involves identifying the spectrum of possible hazards, developing specific scenarios, analysing their impacts in a sophisticated manner, and assessing the likelihood of occurrence for the scenarios described. With the National Risk Analysis of «Disasters and Emergencies Switzerland» (DES), the FOCP develops a crucial basis for preparedness planning in disaster management at all levels of government in Switzerland.

Different products

As part of the National Risk Analysis the following products have been developed. They are periodically updated:

  • Brochure 'What risks does Switzerland face?'
    Geared at a wider public, the brochure provides an overview of the National Risk Analysis and its products. It sets out the focal points of the analysis and demonstrates the practical applications for the insights it generates.
  • Risk Report
    The Risk Report 2020 documents the results of the analyses carried out by 2020. It features risk diagrams for all disasters and emergencies covered by the analyses. These make it possible to compare the scenarios' inherent risks. As well as updating the 33 scenarios set out in the 2015 report, the 2020 edition adds 11 new scenarios to the list.
  • Methodology report
    The methodology report documents the methodological approach and metrics used in the National Risk Analysis.
  • Hazard Catalogue
    The Hazard Catalogue lists all potential hazards for Switzerland and provides an overview of conceivable events and developments. However, it does not rank them according to their respective level of risk.
    Further information
  • Hazard Files
    Information is systematically collected on all hazards relevant to Switzerland and scenarios are developed for each. This information is compiled in a Hazard File, which provides the basis for the National Risk Analysis «Disasters and Emergencies Switzerland» (DES)and for consecutive planning efforts.
    Further information


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Risk Analysis and Research Coordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

E-Mail

Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Risk Analysis and Research Coordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

print preview

Analyse nationale des risques de catastrophes ou de situations d’urgence

Base pour la planification préventive et la préparation aux événements

Les organisations chargées de la maîtrise des catastrophes et des situations d’urgence sont confrontées à un large éventail d’événements dommageables. Ces derniers peuvent être d’origine naturelle, technique ou sociétale. Il convient d’organiser et de planifier la maîtrise de tels événements. Afin d’établir une vue d’ensemble systématique du potentiel de risque lié aux catastrophes et situations d’urgence possibles, les organisations responsables de la gestion des catastrophes ont recours aux analyses des dangers et des risques. Le spectre des dangers possibles est identifié, des scénarios concrets sont élaborés sur cette base, leurs différentes conséquences sont analysées et la probabilité d’occurrence des scénarios décrits est évaluée. Avec l’analyse nationale des risques "Catastrophes et situations d’urgence en Suisse" (CaSUS), l’OFPP établit une base pour la planification préventive et la préparation aux événements à tous les niveaux étatiques.

Produits

A l’occasion des travaux menés dans le cadre de l’analyse nationale des risques, les produits suivants ont été développés et seront régulièrement mis à jour:

  • Brochure "À quels risques la Suisse est-elle exposée ?"
    Cette brochure vise à présenter l’analyse nationale des risques et ses produits au grand public. Elle en résume les principaux aspects et montre dans quels domaines les résultats de l’analyse peuvent s’appliquer.
  • Rapport sur les risques
    Le rapport sur les risques 2020 montre les résultats des analyses effectuées jusqu’en 2020. Il contient les diagrammes mettant en relation les risques relatifs aux catastrophes et situations d’urgences étudiées. Ces diagrammes permettent de comparer les risques inhérents aux différents scénarios. Dans l’édition 2020, les 33 scénarios élaborés jusqu’en 2015 sont mis à jour et complétés par 11 nouveaux.
  • Méthodologie
    La méthode CaSUS documente la procédure et la métrique utilisées dans l’analyse nationale des risques.
  • Liste des dangers
    La liste des dangers est une récapitulation de dangers possibles qui pourraient avoir des conséquences dommageables pour la population et ses bases d’existence, aujourd’hui et demain. Elle présente une vue d’ensemble d’événements et d’évolutions concevables, sans les classer par ordre de priorités.
    Pour en savoir plus
  • Dossiers sur les dangers
    Pour chaque danger, les informations disponibles seront analysées et des scénarios seront développés de manière systématique et réunis dans un dossier spécifique. Les scénarios de ces dossiers constituent la base des évaluations figurant dans l’analyse des risques et des travaux de planification consécutifs.
    Pour en savoir plus


Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP Analyse des risques et coordination de la recherche
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Berne

E-Mail

Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP

Analyse des risques et coordination de la recherche
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Berne