print preview

Organisation of the FOCP

Six business units

The Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP) in the Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS) is basically responsible for civil protection at the federal level The FOCP consists of the following business units (organisational units)

  • Civil Protection,
  • Spiez Laboratory,
  • National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC),
  • Training,
  • Telematics and
  • Resources.


The Resources unit is the FOCP’s internal service agency and consists of the following divisions: Human Resources, Finances, Commercial Services, Real Estate/Logistics, IT Services and Language Services.


The management board of the FOCP consists of the director and the heads of the business units. Since 01 april 2020 the FOCP is led by Director a. i. Jean-Paul Theler. The FOCP is conducted according to the three management processes of the integrated management systems (FOCP IMS): business planning, management and -optimisation. The FOCP has been certified according to ISO 9001 (quality management), ISO 14001 (environment) and OHSAS 18001 (work safety) norms.


The FOCP has altogether 330 employees (295.1 posts; excl. apprentices and internships). 161 work at the central office in Bern, 97 in Spiez (Spiez Laboratory), 68 in Schwarzenburg (Federal Training Centre) and 4 in Zurich (National Emergency Operations Centre). (as of decembre 2019) 


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern