print preview

The National Risk Analysis of Disasters and Emergencies in Switzerland

Crucial basis for preparedness planning in disaster management

Organisations responsible for the management of disasters and emergencies face a broad and diverse range of loss events. The National Risk Analysis classifies these events into three categories: nature, technology and society. The response to these events must therefore be organised and planned in advance. In order to get a systematic overview of the hazard potential of possible disasters and emergencies, organizations in charge of disaster management perform analyses of hazards or risks, respectively. This involves identifying the spectrum of possible hazards, developing specific scenarios, analysing their impacts in a sophisticated manner, and assessing the likelihood of occurrence for the scenarios described. With the National Risk Analysis of «Disasters and Emergencies Switzerland» (DES), the FOCP develops a crucial basis for preparedness planning in disaster management at all levels of government in Switzerland.

Different products

As part of the National Risk Analysis the following products have been developed. They are periodically updated:

  • Brochure 'What risks does Switzerland face?'
    Geared at a wider public, the brochure provides an overview of the National Risk Analysis and its products. It sets out the focal points of the analysis and demonstrates the practical applications for the insights it generates.
  • Risk Report
    The Risk Report 2020 documents the results of the analyses carried out by 2020. It features risk diagrams for all disasters and emergencies covered by the analyses. These make it possible to compare the scenarios' inherent risks. As well as updating the 33 scenarios set out in the 2015 report, the 2020 edition adds 11 new scenarios to the list.
  • Methodology report
    The methodology report documents the methodological approach and metrics used in the National Risk Analysis.
  • Hazard Catalogue
    The Hazard Catalogue lists all potential hazards for Switzerland and provides an overview of conceivable events and developments. However, it does not rank them according to their respective level of risk.
    Further information
  • Hazard Files
    Information is systematically collected on all hazards relevant to Switzerland and scenarios are developed for each. This information is compiled in a Hazard File, which provides the basis for the National Risk Analysis «Disasters and Emergencies Switzerland» (DES)and for consecutive planning efforts.
    Further information


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Risk Analysis and Research Coordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

E-Mail

Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Risk Analysis and Research Coordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

print preview

Nationale Risikoanalyse von Katastrophen und Notlagen

Grundlagen für vorsorgliche Planung und Ereignisvorbereitung

Organisationen, die sich mit der Bewältigung von Katastrophen und Notlagen beschäftigen, sind mit einem vielfältigen und breiten Spektrum von Schadensereignissen konfrontiert. Diese werden in der nationalen Risikoanalyse eingeteilt in die Bereiche Natur, Technik und Gesellschaft. Die Bewältigung solcher Ereignisse muss organisiert und geplant werden. Um eine systematische Übersicht über das Gefährdungspotential von möglichen Katastrophen und Notlagen zu gewinnen, behelfen sich die verantwortlichen Organisationen im Rahmen des Katastrophenmanagements der Gefährdungs- bzw. Risikoanalyse. Dabei werden das Spektrum von möglichen Gefährdungen identifiziert, konkrete Szenarien dazu entwickelt, deren Auswirkungen differenziert analysiert und die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit der beschriebenen Szenarien abgeschätzt. Mit der nationalen Risikoanalyse "Katastrophen und Notlagen Schweiz" (KNS) schafft das Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS Grundlagen für die vorsorgliche Planung und Ereignisvorbereitung auf allen staatlichen Ebenen. 

Verschiedene Produkte

Im Rahmen der Arbeiten zur nationalen Risikoanalyse wurden folgende Produkte entwickelt, die periodisch aktualisiert werden:

  • Broschüre "Welche Risiken gefährden die Schweiz?"
    Die Broschüre richtet sich an die breite Öffentlichkeit mit dem Ziel, die nationale Risikoanalyse und ihre Produkte vorzustellen. Sie beinhaltet die zentralen Brennpunkte und zeigt auf, wo die Erkenntnisse der Analyse überall eingesetzt werden.

  • Risikobericht
    Der Risikobericht 2020 zeigt die Resultate der Analysen auf, die bis 2020 erarbeitet wurden. Er enthält die Risikodiagramme, welche die Risiken der untersuchten Katastrophenereignisse und Notlagen zueinander in Beziehung stellen. Die Diagramme ermöglichen einen Vergleich des Risikos der Szenarien. In der Ausgabe 2020 wurden die bis 2015 erarbeiteten 33 Szenarien aktualisiert und um 11 neue erweitert.

  • Methode
    Die KNS-Methode dokumentiert das Vorgehen und die angewandte Metrik in der nationalen Risikoanalyse.
  • Gefährdungskatalog
    Der Gefährdungskatalog ist eine Zusammenstellung möglicher Gefährdungen. Er stellt eine Übersicht über denkbare Ereignisse und Entwicklungen dar, ohne diese zu priorisieren.
    Weitere Informationen
  • Gefährdungsdossiers
    Für jede Gefährdung werden vorhandene Informationen aufgearbeitet, dazu systematisch aufgebaute Szenarien entwickelt und in einem sogenannten Gefährdungsdossier zusammengestellt. Die Szenarien in den Gefährdungsdossiers sind die Grundlage für die Bewertung in der Risikoanalyse und weiterführende Planungsarbeiten.
    Weitere Informationen


Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS Risikogrundlagen und Forschungskoordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern

E-Mail

Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS

Risikogrundlagen und Forschungskoordination
Guisanplatz 1B
CH-3003 Bern