How NBC protection is organised in Switzerland

A wide range of civilian and military institutions cooperate closely in NBC protection at all levels (federal, cantonal and communal). The same is also true for preventive measures, the preparation, crisis management and leadership.

Cantonal level

The cantons are usually in charge of managing chemical and biological incidents as well as incidents leading to an increase in radioactivity, provided only a small area is affected. The many tasks relating to NBC protection are primarily carried out by the police, the fire service as well as the cantonal management bodies and laboratories.
In its role as a primary intervention resource, the fire service may have to deal with the release of dangerous chemicals, bio-agents or nuclear radiation. For incidents affecting a relatively small area, such as transport or laboratory accidents involving the release of radioactivity, the special radiation protection units of the fire service are deployed in direct cooperation with the National Emergency Operations Centre NEOC and the federal emergency task force from both the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI or the Institute of Applied Radiophysics IRA. The Civil Protection Organisation may also be involved, should an incident occur that leads to an increase in radioactivity.
Through the cantonal NBC platform (CPNBC) cantonal personnel in charge of NBC issues coordinate the efforts of all partners involved in precautionary and preparatory NBC protection.

The Federal Commission for NBC Protection ComNBC

The ComNBC is an advisory specialist body whose task consists in supporting the supply process (with experts) and in evaluating documents and concepts relating to NBCN precautionary measures. The purpose of ComNBC work is to ensure sufficient protection of the population against NBC dangers and threats.

The Spiez Laboratory

The Spiez Laboratory is Switzerland’s establishment for protection against nuclear, biological and chemical (NBC) threats and dangers. It has the requisite laboratories and measuring equipment to ensure that it can fullfil this task.

The National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC)

The National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC) is the federal centre of expertise for exceptional events. One of its tasks is the management of incidents involving real or suspected increases in radioactivity, large-scale chemical accidents, overflowing or rupturing of dams, as well as risks related to both satellite re-entry and natural hazards. In any event involving radioactivity, it is charged with ordering immediate measures to protect the population. Regardless of the type of emergency, the NEOC is the first point of contact for the cantons on all civil protection issues.

The Federal Office for Public Health (FOPH)

As a national authority, the Federal Office for Public Health FOPH is – together with the cantons –in charge of public health and the development of a national health strategy. It is responsible for monitoring infectious diseases and for radiation protection in Switzerland and prepares the necessary regulations.

The NBC EOD Centre of Competence of the Armed Forces

The head of medical services / the Surgeon General is responsible for the development of a medical doctrine and operational concept for the NBC branch of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS). The NBC EOD Centre of Competence (nuclear, biological, chemical, explosive ordnance disposal and mine action) of the Armed Forces in Spiez and Thun is in charge of NBC defence and military EOD.


Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP Federal Staff and Pre-decautionary Planning
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Print contact

Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP

Federal Staff and Pre-decautionary Planning
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern

Show map

Die Organisation des ABC-Schutzes in der Schweiz

Im ABC-Schutz arbeiten zahlreiche zivile und militärische Institutionen auf allen staatlichen Ebenen (Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden) eng zusammen. Dies gilt sowohl für die Prävention und die Vorbereitung als auch für die Führung und Ereignisbewältigung.

Stufe Kanton

Bei kleinflächigen Ereignissen mit erhöhter Radioaktivität sowie Chemie- und biologischen Ereignissen liegt die Federführung in der Regel bei den Kantonen. Hier sind es in erster Linie die Polizei, die Feuerwehr sowie die kantonalen Führungsorgane und Laboratorien, die vielfältige Aufgaben im ABC-Schutz wahrnehmen.
Die Feuerwehr kann als Blaulichtorganisation im Einsatz auf gefährliche C-Substanzen, B-Agenzien oder radioaktive Strahlung stossen. Relativ kleinflächige Unfälle wie Transport- und Laborunfälle, bei denen Radioaktivität freigesetzt wird, werden durch besondere Strahlenwehren der Feuerwehr bewältigt – dies in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalen Alarmzentrale NAZ und dem Bundes-Pikett des Paul-Scherrer-Instituts PSI bzw. dem „Institut de radiophysique IRA“. Bei Ereignissen mit erhöhter Radioaktivität kann auch der Zivilschutz zum Einsatz kommen.

Die Koordinationsplattform ABC der Kantone KPABC

Im Bereich des vorsorglichen und vorbereitenden ABC-Schutzes koordinieren die kantonalen ABC-Verantwortlichen die Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen Partnern über die Koordinationsplattform der Kantone KPABC .

Stufe Bund

Die Eidgenössische Kommission für ABC-Schutz KomABC

Die KomABC ist ein beratendes Fachgremium, dessen Aufgabe darin besteht, den Vorsorgeprozess (mit Experten) zu unterstützen und Dokumente und Konzepte im Bereich der ABCN-Vorsorge zu überprüfen.

Das Labor Spiez

Das Labor Spiez ist das Schweizerische Institut für den Schutz vor atomaren, biologischen und chemischen (ABC) Bedrohungen und Gefahren. Dazu betreibt dieser Geschäftsbereich des Bundesamtes für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS die erforderlichen Labors und Messmittel.

Die Nationale Alarmzentrale NAZ

Die Nationale Alarmzentrale NAZ ist eine Fachstelle des Bundes für ausserordentliche Ereignisse. Zu den Aufgaben dieses Geschäftsbereichs des Bundesamtes für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS gehört das Management von Ereignissen in Zusammenhang mit Radioaktivität, grossen Chemieereignissen, Staudammbrüchen und bei Naturgefahren. Die Struktur der NAZ ist primär auf den Einsatzfall ausgerichtet.

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG ist – zusammen mit den Kantonen – verantwortlich für die öffentliche Gesundheit und für die Entwicklung der nationalen Gesundheitspolitik. Es ist zuständig für die Überwachung der übertragbaren Krankheiten und für den Strahlenschutz in der Schweiz und bereitet die notwendigen Vorschriften vor.

Das Kompetenzzentrum ABC-KAMIR der Armee

Für die Entwicklung einer medizinisch-ärztlichen Doktrin und Einsatzkonzeption im ABC-Bereich des Departements für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport VBS ist der Chef Sanitätsdienst/Oberfeldarzt der Armee zuständig. Das Kompetenzzentrum ABC-KAMIR (atomar, biologisch, chemisch, Kampfmittelbeseitigung und Minenräumung) der Armee in Spiez leitet die ABC-Abwehr und den Bereich KAMIR der Armee. 


Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS Geschäftsbereich Bevölkerungsschutzpolitik
Bundesstab und Vorsorgeplanung
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 50 11

E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS

Geschäftsbereich Bevölkerungsschutzpolitik
Bundesstab und Vorsorgeplanung
Monbijoustrasse 51A
CH-3003 Bern

Karte ansehen